Daring Bakers August – Chocolate Chocolate Eclairs

I had made eclairs before, so I figured this would be an easy Daring Baker’s month.  I whipped up my first batch of eclairs (including the super bizarre baking directions) and ended up with flat pancakes for eclairs.  Into the trash!  For the second batch, I baked them at a higher temperature and nixed the stupid wooden spoon.  More flat pancakes!  At that point, I realized that it’s probably just the recipe and not me, and I was running out of eggs, so I just kept them.

The pastry cream came together fine and was very delicious.  I didn’t quite see the need to make the chocolate sauce, then promptly mix that into the chocolate glaze.  I would have rather seen a unified recipe for that, as now I have containers of both sauce and glaze in my fridge.

Overall, these were pretty good.  GiR and I are not huge chocolate fans, so it was a bit much chocolate for us.  However, for those chocolate lovers out there, this is the recipe for you!

Chocolate Chocoalte Eclairs

Recipe
“Chocolate Eclairs” from Chocolate Desserts by Pierre Herme by Dorie Greenspan

Modifications
None

Rating
Good, but too time-consuming (and too chocolatey).  3 stars out of 5.

7 responses to “Daring Bakers August – Chocolate Chocolate Eclairs

  1. i agree that chocolate on chocolate can be a bit much- but yours look delicious!

  2. Lots of people seemed to have problems with the choux pastry with this challenge, so you’re not alone. However, the eclairs do look great! Such luscious-looking pastry cream–I almost wish I’d gone with chocolate now!

  3. I know you said you weren’t big on chocolate, but those look great!

  4. Yeah, mine went flat too, and the chocolate sauce was so runny! It was a good experiement though, and coming from a chocolate lover, they were so yummy!

  5. I couldn’t agree more that the choux recipe isn’t ideal in a sense — too many eggs in my opinion, and I had to take special precuations to avoid all the problems others had with it. A choux paste with less eggs and all water, instead of water AND milk, is the best option in my opinion.

    However, your ‘puffs’ may not have puffed, but they look delicious, regardless. That said, I also have loads of chocolate sauce left..another ropic I touched on in my blog. 🙂

  6. This was my first time making eclairs and I have to agree that the recipe was a pain. If I ever have the desire to try it again… I would try another choux recipe. lol 🙂

  7. Hey! Fancy to meet another D-blogger.

    I agree with the choux issues. I gave up on the spoon after about 5 minutes.

Leave a Reply

