My Dorie Days

After reading so much about Dorie Greenspan’s book Baking: From My Home to Yours, I decided to pick it up from the library to try the recipes out before shelling out the cash for my own book. Here’s everything that I made in the 3 weeks or so I had the book. Needless to say, I ordered my own copy. =)

Pecan Honey Sticky Buns (pg. 51)

Rating
Absolutely fantastic. 4.5 stars out of 5.

Lemon Poppyseed Muffins (pg. 10)

Rating
4.5 stars out of 5.

Fresh Mango Bread (pg. 45)

Modifications
I used craisins instead of raisins, resulting in a beautiful mango cranberry bread.

Rating
4 stars out of 5.

Oatmeal Breakfast Bread (pg. 44)

Modifications
At the last minute, I realized I didn’t have any applesauce. I used mashed banana instead, which substituted perfectly. And again, I used craisins instead of raisins.

Rating
4 stars out of 5.

Honey-Nut Brownies (pg. 102)

Modifications
I chose to use almonds as my nut.

Rating
Not enough of a chocolaty taste. 2.5 stars out of 5.

Great Grains Muffins

Modifications
I finally used the last of my craisins in this recipe. Can you tell I got them on sale?

Rating
3.5 stars out of 5.

2 responses to “My Dorie Days

  1. Hi! 🙂

    We’re inviting you to join our blogroll!

    The Key Ingredient blogroll features a growing list of food blogs that focus on baking and cooking a combination of sweet and savory foods.

    Please contact sophiekiblogger@gmail.com for more details on how to join the blogroll or sign up at http://blog.keyingredient.com/BlogrollSignup.html

    Warm Regards,
    Sophie
    KI’s Chief Blogger

  2. Isn’t it a great book? I love it, and bake from it regularly. I just made the Chunky Peanut Butter and Oatmeal Chocolate Chipster cookies, which are a combo of oatmeal, peanut butter, and chocolate chip cookies all rolled into one.

Leave a Reply

