Daring Bakers June – Apple Danish Braid

This month’s Daring Baker challenge was a yeasted danish braid with an apple filling. I had actually made something nearly exactly like this in a baking class, so it wasn’t too much of a challenge. I did, however, use real vanilla bean for the first time. =)

Apple Danish Braid

Recipe
“Danish Braid” from Sherry Yard’s The Secrets of Baking

Modifications
None.  I was even able to find cardamom for cheap at World Market.

Rating
We had it both warm from the oven and refridgerated the next day.  I do have to say it tasted better chilled.  3 stars out of 5.

10 responses to “Daring Bakers June – Apple Danish Braid

  1. The filling looks stunning. I love the way your pastry looks. This was my first time in the DB, so I had fun with it too. I got my cardamom in Malaysia. Almost free.

  2. Great apple filling, wasn’t it? Actually, I liked it chilled too.

  3. Great job. Thank you for baking with us 🙂

  4. Your braid looks great. Congratulations on a successful challenge!

  5. Hey, nice job on the danish braid. It looks terrific.

  6. Great job on your braid!

  7. mmm that braid looks fantastic!!
    but wait.. 3 stars out of 5?? not even 3.5?? *giggles*
    good job!

  8. That’s an intricate-looking braid! Good job with the braid. I’m jealous of all the apple filling you had in your braid; I barely had enough to fill two little ones!

  9. Woohoo! That braid looks delicious, I want to eat a slice right now 🙂 I simply love your photos, so professional. Way to go on your first DB Challenge! Isn’t it fun baking in groups?

  10. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a Reply

