TWiB #21 – Key Lime Pie

My husband GiR loves key lime pie, but I hate the artificial taste of the sweetened condensed milk that is often a staple in such pies. I searched high and low for a key lime pie recipe that did not have sweetened condensed milk, and here’s what I came up with.

Key Lime Pie

Recipe
Key Lime Pie with a Plain Shortbread Crust from Cooking: A Commonsense Guide

Modifications
Because of how things worked out, I ended up with an extra egg white, so I have 4 egg whites in the meringue instead of 3. I also did not have real key limes, so I just used regular limes.

Rating
This tastes sooo much better than traditional key lime pies. The crust I chose was not quite the right type of crust for this pie, but it was still good. 4 stars out of 5.

Leave a Reply

