All things strawberry cake

My grandma looooves strawberries, so I made her this cake for Mother’s Day.

I used a from-the-box French Vanilla cake, baked in 2 layers then cut into 4 layers. Sadly, I forgot to take a picture of a slice so you could see the wonderful ayers.

For the icing, I used Jen‘s strawberry Swiss meringue buttercream. Her strawberry buttercream vanilla chiffon cake was my inspiration.

And…. one more pic for good measure. =)

This cake gets a 5 for presentation, but only about a 4 for quality. The French vanilla cake was too generic, and some people didn’t like the taste of the buttercream. Overall, a huge success though.

3 responses to “All things strawberry cake

  1. That looks tasty. My husband loves strawberry cake, so I may have to try your version.

  2. Katie,

    Just a note to let you know my wife loved her Strawberry Fields cake for mother’s day. Of course, I got to enjoy it too. Thanks

  3. Stunning! Your cake looks awesome. Thanks for looking at my Strawberry Buttercream Cake. Perhaps we can compare notes sometime. What say you?

Leave a Reply

