Food, glorious food!

For the 4th of July, I decided to make a red, white and blue themed cheesecake. The crust is just 1/2 a red velvet cake mix (prepared as directed on the box) baked in a 9″ springform pan. I used a simple generic recipe for the cheesecake part. The blueberry sauce came from my trusty friend Betty ;). All in all, a simple dessert, but it was pretty well received. The red velvet cake was “meh”, in my opinion, but the blueberry sauce was fantastic.

Red white and blue cheesecake (whole)

Red white and blue cheesecake (slice)

I had originally bought some strawberries for potential use in the 4th of July cheesecake, but as you can see, I didn’t end up using them. I also had some leftover Bavarian cream from a small cake I made for my mom. I needed a dessert for a game night at our house, so I bought some dessert shells from the store and decided to “whip something up.” I simply filled the shells with the cream, sliced a strawberry all fancy-like, and placed it on top. Simple, big hit, slightly messy to eat. =D

Strawberry cream dessert

I’ve also whipped up some tasty dinners this past week, but no pictures. It’s pretty fun putting together disparate ingredients into a tasty whole. I’m typically a strict recipe-following gal, but throwing stuff together is satisfying as well.

Leave a Reply

